Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ISSX
ISSX News: General

Asia Pacific Region ISSX Award Winners Selected

Wednesday, April 18, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

Asia Pacific Region ISSX Award Winners Selected

The International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics (ISSX) is pleased to announce the winners of its most prestigious awards presented to outstanding scientists in the Asia Pacific. 

Tetsuya Terasaki, Ph.D., is the winner of the 2018 Asia Pacific Scientific Achievement Award. Dr. Terasaki is Professor, Division of Membrane Transport and Drug Targeting, Department of Biochemical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Tohoku University Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences in Sendai, Japan.

 Professor Terasaki is an international leader in pharmaceutical research on themolecular mechanisms of drug distribution in the body, especially in the central nervous system (CNS) and peripheral organs, with the ultimate aim of developing rational methodology for efficient drug delivery to the appropriate target organ. A major focus of his research has been to clarify the blood-brain barrier transport mechanisms of drugs and endogenous compounds. 

Professor Terasaki was the Co-Chair of the joint ISSX/JSSX Scientific Meeting held in San Francisco, California in 2014.

Huichang Bi, Ph.D., Professor and Associate Dean, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou, China, is the winner of the 2018 Asia Pacific New Investigator Award. Dr. Bi obtained her Ph.D. in Pharmacology from Sun Yat-sen University in 2007 under the supervision of Dr. Min Huang. She joined the faculty of School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Sun Yat-sen University in 2007 as Assistant Professor. She was promoted to Associate Professor in 2010 and Full Professor in 2016. Dr. Bi also holds an adjunct professorship from the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy.

Both Professor Terasaki and Professor Bi will receive their awards and honors at the 6th Asia Pacific ISSX Meeting that convenes May 11 – 14, 2018 at Zhejiang University in Hangzhou, China.  They will deliver awards lectures at a special session on Saturday, May 12.  

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal