Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ISSX
ISSX News: General

ISSX North American Meeting Award Winners Named

Thursday, May 24, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |
The International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics (ISSX) is pleased to announce the winners of its most prestigious awards presented to outstanding scientists in North America.

Joyce A. Goldstein, PhD, was selected by the ISSX Awards Committee to receive the 2018 North American Scientific Achievement Award. Dr. Goldstein is Scientist Emeritus at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina.

Dr. Goldstein received her PhD in pharmacology from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, at Dallas, Texas in 1968. She holds two patents on the discovery of CYP2C19 and the major polymorphism in this enzyme, and has published more than 154 peer-reviewed articles in leading biomedical journals and 25 book chapters.  Dr. Goldstein is an ISI Highly Cited Author in Pharmacology (since 2006) a member of the Faculty of 1000, and is Board Certified by the American Board of Toxicology. She was formerly the Acting Chief of the Biochemistry Branch at EPA, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina before joining NIEHS in 1977. 

Dr.Goldstein’s primary nominator was Dr. Sonia de Morais.

The North American Scientific Achievement Award is named in honor of Ronald W. Estabrook, a Past President of ISSX and An expert in the field of cytochrome P450 biochemistry and biophysics.  The award was established through the generous support of XenoTech in 2005.

Bhagwat Prasad, PhD, was named as the recipient of the 2018 North American New Investigator Award.  Professor Prasad is Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutics, at the University of Washington in Seattle, WA. He is active in two research collaborations between academia and pharmaceutical industry:  The University of Washington Program on Pharmacokinetics of Drugs of Abuse during Pregnancy and the University of Washington Research Affiliate Program on Transporters.

Professor Prasad is a pharmacist by education with major research training in the field of pharmaceutical analysis. His research is focused on application of liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (LC-MS) and quantitative proteomics to understand interindividual variability in drug disposition. He obtained his MS in 2006 and PhD in 2010 in Pharmaceutical Sciences from NIPER, Mohali, India. In his roles as a primary investigator or co-investigator in various National Institutes of Health and industry funded grants, he has established and applied quantitative proteomic assays to quantify population variability in DMET proteins.

Professor Prasad’s primary nominator was W. Griffith Humphreys.


Both Dr. Goldstein and Dr. Prasad will receive their awards and honors at the 22nd North American ISSX Meeting that convenes July 15 – 19, 2018 at the Palais des congrès de Montréal.  They will deliver awards lectures at a special session on Monday, July 16.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal