Print Page | Sign In | Join ISSX
Awards Committee

The ISSX Awards Committee consists of six (6) appointed members, plus the President-elect as chairperson. Each appointed member serves a two-year term, with half rotating off every two years.

The committee reviews nominations for Society awards, whose presentation will be linked to Society meetings. A Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award and Distinguished Service Award are presented at each international meeting, every three years, with nominees drawn from an international pool of eligible scientists. A Scientific Achievement Award and New Investigator Award are presented at the Society's regional meetings or Society-sponsored meetings, with nominees drawn from the respective regions where the meetings are held (Americas, Asia Pacific or Europe). After reviewing all nominations, the Awards Committee sends the names of selected awardees, if any, to the President for final approval.

The Duties of the Awards Committee are to:

  • Review nominations for Society awards for recommendation to the ISSX President.
  • Provide slides and text for the presentation of awards at Society meetings and for publication in the newsletter and web site.
  • Identify sponsors for awards, and review other proposals for awards/honors.
  • Review proposals for meeting dedication and provide feedback and suggestions, if appropriate, to Meeting Organising Committees (MOCs) and Council.
  • Liaise with MOCs to ensure that award presentations are satisfactorily integrated into meeting programs.
  • Other functions related to Society awards as requested by Council.




Term Ends

Scott Obach, Chair
North America United States December 31, 2021
Per Artursson
Europe Sweden December 31, 2020
Marcel Hop
North America United States December 31, 2021
Barry Jones
Europe United Kingdom December 31, 2021
Andrew McLachlan
Asia Pacific Australia December 31, 2020
Emily Scott
North America United States December 31, 2020
Namandje Bumpus
North America United States December 31, 2020