Print Page | Sign In | Join ISSX
Membership Affairs Committee

The Membership Affairs Committee consists of six (6) appointed members, including the chairperson, plus the Newsletter Editor as an ex officio member. Each appointed member serves a two-year term, with half rotating off every two years.

The Membership Affairs Committee works to develop appropriate and cost effective programs and procedures for the recruitment of new members, the retention of current members and re-enlistment of lapsed members. The committee members review the categories of membership for possible revisions and develop criteria for new categories and prepare an annual report of committee activities for presentation to Council and to the Society.

The Duties of the Membership Affairs Committee are to:

  • Advise Council on initiatives for improving the relationship between the Society and its members.
  • Advise Council on initiatives to enhance member services and benefits, and on strategies to increase Society membership.
  • Liaise with the Finance Committee to undertake an annual review of fees charged for membership of the Society including, but not limited to, monitoring the dues structures of similar societies.
  • Implement initiatives intended to increase the involvement of new investigators in ISSX activities including:
    • Liaising with the Scientific Affairs Committee (SAC) and Meeting Organising Committees (MOCs) to ensure inclusion of new investigators in the scientific programs of ISSX meetings.
    • Liaising with SAC and MOCs to ensure the organization of a scientific session organized by and for new investigators.
    • Serving as the host of a social event for new investigators at each regional and international ISSX meeting.
  • Review requests for membership grants, and recommend potential recipients to Council.
  • Provide oversight of the content of the Society newsletter.
  • Liaise with the Scientific Affairs Committee to identify potential nominees for Society awards for recommendation to the Awards Committee.
  • Other functions related to ISSX membership as requested by Council.




Term Ends

Marcel Hop, Chair
North America United States December 31, 2021
Janne Backman
Europe Sweden December 31, 2021
Uwe Fuhr
Europe Germany December 31, 2020
Nina Isoherranen
North America United States December 31, 2020
Jasleen Sodhi
North America United States December 31, 2021
Mandy Xu
Asia Pacific China December 31, 2021
Ping Zhao
North America United States December 31, 2020